Wedding Flowers are Outrageous

September 1, 2010

My planner tells me that fancy florists mark up flower prices 3x for their labor.  That means if it takes $100 of roses to make your bouquet, it will cost you $300.  Unlucky for me, my florist, who is affiliated with my planner, is the cheapest around and only marks up her prices 2.3x or so.  After much reluctance and dodging on her part, and a call of complaint to the planner, the florist has finally given me a breakdown of what her wholesale costs are and what I am paying.

For example: Garden roses wholesale $87 + labor cost $113

That’s only one of five items on the list, plus supplies.  It boggles my mind how I told the florist I am not that into flowers, only want bouquets for myself and 3 bridesmaids, 2 small ones for the mothers, and 3 boutonnieres… and her first quote to me was $1000.  W T  F.  After much unnecessary correspondence and overall shadiness on her part, I think we are going to compromise at $600.  I’m only sticking with her because in this crazy wedding world, she probably is the cheapest.  Also, I really don’t have the time or energy to deal with another one.

One option is to find good quality silk flowers and rent those.  To tell you the truth, I don’t like flowers.  H2B may protest but that’s because he sent me a dozen one time and I loved them because he sent them.  But really, I don’t like flowers.  I like a flower, like a single rose.  Maybe a nice slim vase with two or three flowers.  But the whole giant arrangements – not so much.  It’s a waste of money and then they die and you have to deal with the dried dead pieces that fall all over your carpet.  Perhaps I have a bad habit of leaving dead plants where they are for too long.

Anyway, if I had the time I would make my own bouquets.  It really is not that hard.  You just tie a bunch of flowers together in a way that looks aesthetically pleasing.  Just take a look at the e-How instructions here.  Easy peasy and 35% of what I’m paying for now if you order your flowers from Costco.  I’ve read the reviews on them, quite good.  But, time is money I suppose.

The plan is to look something like this:

Super cute!

2 Responses to “Wedding Flowers are Outrageous”

  1. Cindy Says:

    “It’s a waste of money and then they die and you have to deal with the dried dead pieces that fall all over your carpet.”

    You sound like a man…or at least, my man. hahaha!


    • Yeah I’ve been told it’s very “un girlish” to not like flowers. They are just so much trouble and too expensive for what they are! Give me Godiva any day. Hm… that gives me an idea. Chocolate flower bouquets! mmmmmm


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

