Wedding Cake

August 19, 2010

H2B and I went wedding cake tasting last weekend and OD-ed on sugar, frosting, and fondant (more frosting).  Saturday appointments are hard to come by (FYI) because most bakeries deliver cakes on that day, so we only managed to get one actual tasting appointment.  The second place made us a box to-go.  I really should have taken pictures, but in my sinful gluttony, I forgot.

At the sit-in place we tried: (1) chocolate with strawberry mousse, (2) red velvet with irish cream, and (3) italian cream with apricot mousse.  The chocolate cake was too dry, the mousses were more like sugar and cream, and the italian cream cake had *shock* coconut shavings.  H2B and I share a mutual hatred of coconut shavings.  It’s not so much the flavor, as we both enjoy coconut milk (how can I not, I’m asian), but it’s the texture.  It’s just so… inappropriately crunchy and bitsy, like bits of wood shavings.  Anyway, the red velvet was good but nothing to write home about.

I feel a little bad because the lady had just opened the bakery last November and they are a family business.  She spent a decent amount of time with us designing a cake and teaching us about the different types of frostings.  Unfortunately, she wanted to charge us $800 for the bridal cake and $200 for the grooms.  H2B isn’t even that picky.  He just wants a black forest cherry torte with chocolate shavings on top.  It sounds like something Costco could whip up for $40 to me…

We picked up our to-go samples at noon and proceeded to drive around in the mid-day sun for 5 hours (the sun does not set in the south in August), so the cakes didn’t look so great by the time we got home.  At one point, two of the cakes toppled over and the icing melted through the box.  We got to trying them after dinner and they were DELICIOUS.  Even semi-dried out, melted icing and laying on its side.  Possibly the best cakes I have ever tried.  We tasted (1) french vanilla, (2) andes mint with coffee, (3) red velvet with cream, and (4) pink champagne with pistachio.  Holy canolli – they were all delicious and the first tasting could not compare.  Our favorites were of course numbers (2) and (4), so we are going with those for the cake.

This is what I’d like for it to look like:

Except ours will be 4 tiers, have purple ribbon, no beading, and a different topper.  Probably the same type of purple fresh orchids.  I am so excited!  According to my coordinator (yes, I booked her and haven’t looked back since), this should run between $650-$700.  No brainer.

Disclaimer:  Know that the tasting samples are ginormous.  Bigger than substantial cupcake.  H2B gave up eating the dried out and melted take-out samples after a bite of each.  Not I.  I ate it for dessert on Saturday night, breakfast on Sunday morning, and lunch on Sunday.  If I didn’t have to drive home Sunday night, I would’ve polished it off.  THAT GOOD, people.  Get excited with me.

One Response to “Wedding Cake”

  1. Jessica Says:

    Yay cake!! =) Can’t wait, haha.


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

