Dress Alteration and SHOES!

July 23, 2010

My custom made dress is perfectly made to the measurements we gave them. Unfortunately, my height got lost in the translation. My mom had some difficulty with the conversion between inches and cm’s so instead of adding 3 inches for shoes, we added 5.

I found a local mom and pop tailor who has done quite a few wedding dresses and somehow still dropped $250 on alterations. Picking up the hem is $120 and putting in 6 bustles is $90. Granted, there are 3 layers that must be hemmed and I have to bustle 2 layers of train. They are also making me a veil. Remember the dress maker gave me the veil for free but there was no comb attached so it was just a giant mesh sheet. That costs $15. The tailor also sold me a garment bag that said Alfred Angelo on it to put the dress in for $10. Hm…

Now for the point of this post. Hot pink satin shoes in all it’s gorgeous glory. H2B is not a fan of non-white shoes but I am sure he will warm up to the idea before October 16th. Plus, the bridesmaids will be wearing white satin shoes so I have to be different. It is going to be an opposites day! Surprise, surprise. Now, how much do you love these?

4 Responses to “Dress Alteration and SHOES!”

  1. Jessica Says:

    sooo cute!! =)

  2. Cindy Says:

    Has H2B seen your dress? I hope not!


    • NOPE, and he reads my blog too! He reads them on an iphone so it only shows the title until you click on it, and he’s not allowed to click if it says “dress.” Good willpower for a man! Though… pictures of dresses isn’t exactly great temptation.

      • Cindy Says:

        Haha, yeah, Kenny was like, it all looks the same to me…big white poofy dress :P Gee thanks, husband.


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

